Recession Doesn’t Equal Depression

24 09 2009
photo by jonbell has no h on flickr

photo by jonbell has no h on flickr

With my 9th, 10th, & 11th interviews approaching next week, I feel it’s time to reflect upon my travels on securing employment during the recession. First, I want to say that recession does NOT equal depression. No doubt it’s a challenge and at times it could make your future appear to be bleak but that’s not looking at things positively; (it’s looking through half-empty glasses). Look at the bright side, recession can change your life for the better. It can make you revisit your aspirations that were hidden behind career obligations. I rediscovered my passion for the written word, created 3 blogs, and I’m now looking forward to becoming a freelancer. So my recession has added to my skills by giving me the time to hone into my craft. It has also trained me into becoming a great interviewee; I’m not going to stop until I hear the magnificent words of YOU’RE HIRED. I’ve learned the art of selling myself which in turn has helped me with my writing; investigative reporting, here I come!

Throughout my journey I have hit a few speed bumps. I didn’t show enough enthusiasm on phone interview and didn’t get to the second round, I was corrected on my cover letter during a meeting, I even arrived at an appointment fifteen minutes late. OUCH! Believe me arriving tardy for the party was the ultimate blunder that I hope to never experience again. It really wasn’t my fault, I blame NYC traffic. Controlling it is a challenge for our Mayor. I left my house 1 1/2 hour early and still arrived late, (heard that Sex and the City was taping at the Plaza and traffic was backed on 5th, Lexington, & Park). I arrived frazzled and sweating; totally lost my cool, calm, and collectivity. After I explained my lateness to my interviewer with a twist of humor, I engaged him further with my charm. I had him laughing and smiling within seconds during our time together. In closing he told me he would get back to me the proceeding week. Did I get the job? Heck no! But I did receive a personal note from him and I realized that I would have been his first choice if I hadn’t come late. So I had to chuck that one up to experience. That position wasn’t for me. My grandmother used to say, “if something is for you, it cannot be un-for-you.” Her words hold validity to my situation. When the right position comes along, I will know because I will be hired!

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 09 2009
eva

…so thoughtful.

24 09 2009
Tonja

I agree wholeheartedly. Your current circumstances does not dictate your future expectations! Keep the faith!

25 09 2009
vedazzling

Keep you head up as Tupac sings in the background 🙂

26 09 2009
sanona

Thanks ladies for all your comments of encouragement. Believe it that I’ve even added a 12th interview for next week. Woo Hoo! I’m grateful for each opportunity and I’m looking forward to securing one.

Leave a Reply

