Chris Rock’s Good Hair

2 08 2009

I don’t know about you but I’m completely excited and can’t wait to see Chris Rock’s comical but yet informative documentary Good Hair. The idea stemmed from when one of his daughters asked the puzzling question why she didn’t have good hair. This quandary brought me back to my own childhood when I loathed the process of getting my hair washed and styled. I was tortured every other week when my mama came into the bathroom with the pot to wash my hair in the tub. Then I was further punished when she had to style it after it was washed. My mama broke so many combs in my head which was when I longed for the relaxed tresses otherwise known today as “the creamy crack.” Its taken me over 20 years to appreciate the thickness and strength of my hair; I celebrate it’s beauty everyday when sporting my TWA. Looking forward to being enlightened and entertained with Chris Rock’s inquiry with black women about their hair on October 23rd 9th.

Actions

Information

9 responses

4 08 2009
vedazzling

Yes I agree with you Shani , I will be there on line to get my tkt for this film . I read about his movie last year in a article and I cant wait . Black Women and our hair has been and issue since slavery so I cant wait to see his take on it !

12 08 2009
sanona

Vedazzling,

Thanks for your response and I will be there front and center for this one. Although it comes to a theater in October, I’m still eagerly anticipating. Looking forward to hearing what Nia Long has to share about her hair. I have a feeling that Chris will be on Oprah discussing this movie. Let’s see if I’m correct!

12 08 2009
A Man Of Truth

U r a lil 2 educated on this one… I know u have great writting ability but sometimes u should dumb down for the reader… “quandary”… y use that big word?… chris rock doesn’t use words like that… i enjoyed but i jus believe that u used to many big words… chris rock is a daily news type of reader not NY times… Na mean…

12 08 2009
sanona

A Man of Truth, I’m bewildered by this response. Yes, I’m using another word to describe the feeling that I have from reading your comment. First of all, my readers are educated thinkers who visit my blog to stimulate and entertain their intellects. Your insinuation for me to “dumb down” is not only insulting to me but to my readers as well. If you don’t know the meaning of a word I use, simply look it up in the dictionary. That’s what learning and growing is all about. Can’t even describe how I feel about your Chris Rock comment but let me ask you, how do you know what words he uses or what newspaper he reads? Chris Rock’s performances on the stage or film doesn’t validate his personal views or his private life. Again, your assumption is leaving me…speechless.

30 09 2009
Allie

Ummm…your truth is not our truth! I think Chris Rock would be offended by you calling him uneducated and dumb. Do you think because you cannot comprehend the word quandry that the rest of Sanona’s readers cannot either? I loved this piece as I love everything she does. Sometimes an opinion especially if it is negative should be best left unspoken! If you need a dictionary post your mailing address here I will spend the money to buy and ship you one just to help a borther out, Namean?

3 11 2009
sanona

Allie,
Appreciated your comments as always. I’m digging your alliance with me on this one! Loved how you put if your opinion is negative it should be left unspoken! So true!

12 08 2009
A Man Of Truth

But on the matter at hand… i believe black women should love thier hair but thats a lot to ask for when a lot of black women don’t know themselves… thats y i believe they dont love their natural hair… I’m sure since u got the natural look u have been feeling better about yourself… i don’t even need to ask… I know u feel better… keep up the good writting… and i will watch the movie also… jus cause i’m a chris rock fan though… he could be talkin bout black soup and i would watch… lol

30 09 2009
Allie

Hey Sanona,
I will be on the look out for this movie as well. The subject matter and perfomer both will get me up in there!! Can’t wait to see his spin on this and the message that he is sending his daughter & other young women of color!! Keep ’em coming gurl!
Squishes & Kisses!!

3 11 2009
sanona

Allie, I wrote a follow up to this post, (Good Hair, Did Chris Rock It?) because unlike many, I was disappointed with this movie. I felt Chris didn’t really make this for his daughters or other youths to nurture from about our hair. When the topics about bedroom scenes and hair were brought up, it clearly went out the window for our young viewers. Will Chris really show this to his daughters?

Leave a Reply

