My TWA

28 06 2009

TWA 076

On May 28th 2009, I officially became an all natural gal when I underwent my BC (Big Chop) on an impulse. For two months shy, I was transitioning for the second time and once again felt conflicted with the two textures of my hair. So I decided to skip the torment of balancing both my past and future hairdos and just cut it off. It was an surreal experience for me. It felt like a roller coaster ride as it coasted up that first hill, my stomach flipped and my heart-rate rose as the barber drew his clippers towards my head. Now as I’ve stated in my previous post, Back 2my Roots, I had cut my hair numerous times but this was different; I had an au naturel hairstyle.

What helped me with my journey was the extensive research I did on natural afro-hair. I purchased two terrific books, Hair Story: Untangling the Roots of Black Hair in America by Ayana Bird & Lori Tharps; this book has taught me about the history of black hair. I also picked up another find, Going-Natural: How to Fall in Love with Nappy Hair by Mireille Liong-a-kong which was my reference guide. You Tube was a tremendous help with all my How-To Goddesses: PRETTYDIMPLES01, FreeWorshipFreeWors, BlackOnyx77. I reviewed and practiced trial & error with countless natural hair products; not everything recommended worked for my hair texture because everyone has  unique hair.

My end results were successful and I feel liberated from my processed shackles; I spent 23 years with the ritual of straightening my hair. I’m no longer a black woman afraid of getting caught in the rain without an umbrella. I love to feel my untamed roots growing from my scalp and allowing it to flow unrestricted. I’m looking forward to my Pam Grier afro but for now I’m enjoying every minute of my TWA (Teenie Weenie Afro).

pam_grier1

Shani Anona

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 06 2009
Tonja

You go girl! Do your thang! I ain’t mad at you!

28 06 2009
sanona

Thanks Tonja, I’m loving the freedom with wearing my hair natural.

28 06 2009
Lorraine

My fellow natural sister I love it. This was very inspiring. Thanks for the book titles, I think I will definetly check those out. Its funny how we ended up down the same path with very different stories! luv ya.

28 06 2009
sanona

Thanks Lorraine for your thoughts and the compliment. I’m enjoying this journey every moment. Those books helped me so much and I hope it will do the same for you!

Leave a Reply

