Star is Shinning So Bright!

2 04 2009

I am an avid Oprah Winfrey fan. Anyone who knows me personally, knows that I’ve adored her for umpteen years. Could it possibly be the fact that we share the same birthday, 1/29? Perhaps. Or is it the fact that Ms. Winfrey is always so honest with hers and has been an inspiration for decades? True indeed. Oprah is a beacon of hope for many people including myself. Due to my current state of unemployment, I tune in religiously at 4pm EST to watch her shows. And when I cannot watch her show…I’m taping it on the v.c.r. And yes, I still have one.

On her April 1st special, Oprah showcased three celebrity women who lost a tremendous amount of weight and illustrated the impact it has made on their lives. I was happy for Valeria B. and cheered when she revealed her new bikini frame to the world. And Marie O. struck a chord when she shared her heart-tugging story of her eldest son’s intervention which initiated her transformation. What bewitched me the most was the Star Jones portion of the show.

Star’s story sustained me and I automatically empathized with her situation. While on The View, Star chose to keep her gastric bypass surgery hidden and claimed her weight loss was from dieting and pilates; a partial truth. As a result, her secret finally unraveled and Star inevitably lost major fan power for not being totally honest about her medical procedures. Regardless, I’m proud of Star and understand why she choose to keep this personal weight struggle quiet for so many years. Its a difficult thing to accept that you are overweight or obese and doing it nationally in front of a studio audience doesn’t make it any easier. Fear of judgment and scrutiny can hold you back from assessing the issue. But healing the heart and learning acceptance can make any star shine brightly.

-shani anona

Actions

Information

7 responses

3 04 2009
Tonja

I agree with you Shani!

4 04 2009
sanona

Tonja, thanks so much for your support.

3 04 2009
Tonja

I agree with you!

4 04 2009
Aritha

It is great that you are using your talent to speak about issues in a positive way. I agree!

4 04 2009
sanona

Aritha, thank you kindly for your comment.

5 04 2009
Deirdre

nice… poor star i feel bad now. she should have jus told the truth. her story would have reaached millions regardless. keep up the good work, keep writing

5 04 2009
sanona

Thanks Deirdre for your comment. Its still not too late for Star to reach those millions and probably has now that she aired on Oprah’s show.

Leave a Reply

